Learn the Art of Acceptance

Lord I don’t understand peace. It is so easily lost. I think I am so sad about the killing in Nice, France because I had hoped for a longer break between killing and terror and hate acts. Lord, I ask that You would judge by Your cross my concept or expectation of peace and my right to rely on other people or spiritual powers besides You to explain or provide peace. Jesus I know that You are my peace. I ask You to forgive me for relying on anyone but You for my peace or expectation of peace. Jesus please heal, seal and deal within my salvation in You regarding peace. Please show me what Your peace really looks, feels and sounds like. Thank You Jesus for Your perfect peace and salvation. Amen

Facing reality is something more than some of us can bear. Chronic illness or mental illness, substance abuse – all these circumstances cause ongoing losses and it can be overwhelming. But we must accept what is. If we are going to be able to replace the dreams we lost because of illness, we must accept what our reality is; acceptance brings peace.

Acceptance does not mean adaptation. Acceptance acknowledges the problem so a plan for change can be made:

  • Victims of abuse will not stop being abused until they acknowledge the abuse.
  • Food addicts cannot solve their food issues until they recognize their lack of power over food.
  • Codependents can’t change until they accept their codependent characteristics and powerlessness over people.
  • Substance abusers must accept their powerlessness over their substance addiction.
  • People with chronic physical or mental illness must accept where their powerlessness lies so they can learn what they can do.
  • We can’t change who we are until we accept ourselves the way we are – The nature of our choices and actions and how they affect others.

codependentnomorebymelodybeattieStages of Acceptance and Forgiveness

  1. Denial: Denial is the shock absorber for the soul. During the denial stage we may feel: shock, numbness and refusal to accept. We may minimize and deny feelings or engage in mental avoidance and detachment from ourselves.
  2. Anger: The main reason confrontation is not always what is best for people. Anger may be venting, a little angry, furious or sometimes soul-shaking rage.
  3. Bargaining: trying to prevent loss by trying to strike a deal with life, ourselves, someone else or God
  4. Depression: mourning the loss
  5. Acceptance: We have peace about what is and now we can make a new choice. We might even see a blessing in our loss.

“The way out is through.” Fritz Perls

A codependent or chemically dependent or chronically ill person may be in all 5 stages at once for several losses and not even know it.

Sometimes we revisit stages several times before we reach acceptance.

Feel free to leave your comments below!

My name is Summer. That is how you can call me. I hope that I am a blessing to you. I am not perfect. I will fall again. But I am forgiven.

Do you know Jesus? Do want the Holy Spirit to fill you and give you understanding and salvation? Ask Him. Want someone to pray with you? Contact me.

If you would like to know Jesus as your friend, but want to make this amazing commitment by yourself please pray something like this:

Thank you Jesus that You are the Son of God, the God that created heaven and earth. Thank you Jesus that You came to earth in the form of a man so that You would be able to empathize with my humanity. Thank You that You did this in order to fulfill the promises You made at the foundation of the world.

I realize that I am a sinner and do things that hurt myself and keep myself away from you. Thank You that You died for my sins so that You could defeat death and bring me into Your life. Please forgive me.

I ask You to be Lord of my life. I ask you to heal my hurts and show me what my new life, empowered by You looks like. Thank You for Your mercy.


The Lord is with you always.

%d bloggers like this: